Rebel Raider Wins The 2010 Spring Stakes Ahead Of Xaieta

August 15th, 2010

On Saturday the dual Derby winner Rebel Raider secured a stunning victory in the $125,000 Group Three Spring Stakes (1200m) at Adelaide’s Morphettville Racecourse.

Billed as South Australia’s feature race of the spring, the 2010 Spring Stakes victory marked Rebel Raider’s return to the track after a long spell.

Co-trainers Leon Mcdonald and Andrew Gluyas were confident the five-year-old was back to peak fitness after recovering from a leg injury which ruled him out of the 2009 Melbourne Cup, and they were right.

The son of Reset teamed up with proven partner Clare Lindop in the saddle, who rode Rebel Raider perfectly in his first jump back this season. Sitting just off the pace for the majority of the race, Lindop let go in the final stretch where Rebel Raider surged home to win by over a length-and-a-quarter.

The win puts Rebel Raider on target for the 2010 Melbourne Cup on November 2, and after the victory saw his odds shorten from $31 to $21. So make sure you hurry to make the most of the more lucrative early market odds!

Prior to the jump Silent Surround was the winners’ biggest competition, but failed to deliver and claimed fourth place.

David Jolly’s entrant Xaieta did well to finish second after a strong run, while the 10-year-old Likable Will rounded out in third place.

While the spring features such as the Melbourne Cup and the 2010 Caulfield Cup are Rebel Raider’s biggest spring targets, the $400,000 Group Two Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) is pencilled in as the contenders next start. So make the most of the odds when you head to!

2010 Spring Stakes Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
Rebel Raider
Leon McDonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop
David Jolly Linda Meech
Likable Will
Darren Kolpin Adrian Patterson
Silent Surround
William Smart Simon Price
Right Fong
David Balfour Scott Westover
Magical Pearl
Dennis O’Leary Paul Gatt
Lapel (NZ)
Richard Jolly Libby Hopwood
Mick Whittle Justin Potter
Chief Of Staff
Mark Minervini Shayne Cahill
Oakbank Heights
Sue Jaensch Todd Pannell